2017 A.C.C. Junior Championship
2017 Leaderboard
Landen Simpson, Cooper Hassinen and Ella Zaputil lead the way as 22 golfers compete for junior titles in all age groups!!

2017 Albia Golf Club Championship

The 20th annual version of the Albia Junior Golf Championship was held on Monday, July 31 at Albia Country Club with 22 golfers competing in eight different age divisions.

In the boys 14-15 age group, Cooper Hassinen shot 53 to defeat David Fisher by six shots over nine holes. Landen Simpson was the winner with a 65 in the boys 12-13 grouping.

In the largest group, seven golfers competed in the boys 10-11 age group with Conner Fisher firing a 43 over seven holes to claim the first place trophy. Cael Schofield grabbed second place with a 49 and Grant Powers shot 52 for third place. Owen Hiatt shot a 56, Spencer Maddison shot 58, Kervin Veasley had 68 and Jason Amos had 78 over seven holes to round out the scoring in the group.

In a close battle for the 8-9 year old champion, Carson Sohn prevailed with a 24 over four holes. Owen Hassinen won a playoff for second place with Kameron Veasley with both golfers firing a 26 and Cole Wilson was fourth with a 38.

Brody Thomas defeated Grant Wilson by eight shots firing a 33 over four holes to win the boys 6-7 year old age division.

In the girls divisions, Ella Zaputil was the 12-13 year old champion with a 50 for seven holes and Lucy Hassinen was the 10-11 year old champion with a 58 for seven holes. Emma Doll followed Hassinen closely with a 61 and Brianna Wolfer had 72. Claire Powers won the 8-9 year old girls division trophy with a 32, defeating Aubrey Fisher with a 40 over four holes.

A total of over 30 juniors participated in junior league which ran for the nine weeks of June and July and was held each Monday.

.Website maintained by Mike Duea.